Photo

Cord Wrapped Handle

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Brian Vanspeybroeck

Brian Vanspeybroeck
  • Members
  • 908 posts
  • Interests:Electronics technician by trade, I make knives and swords, train and teach Japanese swordsmanship. I'm a dog lover and enjoy flight simulators as well.

Posted 09 January 2004 - 10:05 PM

The best basic primer on the 'net is this one by Thomas Buck:

http://pages.prodigy...tsuka/tsuka.htm

There are a lot of things to be tried and a lot of different styles of wrapping but this will either kick start you on experimenting or completely discourage you.  :laugh:

It really is not as tough as it looks but it does take a lot of practice to get it right....unless you have access to an experienced teacher.

There is a decent video tape available from Token Konno:

http://www.tokenkonnoart.com/sword.htm

Scroll down to the video on tsukamaki. It is not a great tape but gives a good idea of some basic moves and tools. For $25 it is a bargain, what with silk tsukaito (wrapping cord) going for $3 a foot and about 13' needed for a handle....if it saves you from screwing up one length of ito it has paid for itself.

Good luck!

Brian

"Imagination is more important than knowledge" - Albert Einstein

"The innovator is not an opponent of the old. He is a proponent of the new."
- Lyle E. Schaller

http://home.mchsi.co..._Edged_Art.html

#2 TDB

TDB
  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 January 2004 - 11:08 PM

I found this link a few minutes ago...!!!
Running Dog How to cord wrap
But I was looking for something with the diamond knot (if that is what it is called) [dunno]

#3 Guy Thomas

Guy Thomas
  • Supporting Member
  • 1,272 posts
  • Interests:Bladesmithing and all things related!

Posted 10 January 2004 - 10:03 PM

How about stripping the core out of the paracord so that you have a hollow tube that lays flat? Does that work also?
Guy Thomas

#4 Brian Vanspeybroeck

Brian Vanspeybroeck
  • Members
  • 908 posts