Food safe finishes for wooden handles

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Bob Geldart

Bob Geldart
  • Supporting Member
  • 152 posts

Posted 01 September 2009 - 04:46 PM

Which common wood finishing products are safe for use on wooden knife handles. I'd be particularly interested in anything suitable for sealing hickory and ash. I know they are not common woods for knife handles but I have a ton (literally) of ash and hickory hammer shafts that I need to find a use for.

Posted Image

Edited by Bob Geldart, 01 September 2009 - 04:47 PM.

#2 richard sexstone

richard sexstone

Forum Board

• Super Administrators
  • 2,047 posts

Posted 02 September 2009 - 06:28 AM

Bob,
I use Waterlox.... it's a tung oil base ....exspensive but it lasts good in a kitchen enviroment.... and you can steel wool it an apply a new layer when required.... I would not use it on a cutting board but for knive handles it has a durable finish....I've been using it for 35 years on one of my kitchen knives that still has the original finish,,, It is getting thin and could use a refinish but in all this time it has protected the maple realy well.... I actual soaked the handle in a jar filled with waterlox for a couple of days.... then let it dry and allpied one last final coat... it dries to the touch in a day but takes about a month to really harden according to the directions ..
Dick

#3 B. Norris

B. Norris
  • Supporting Member
  • 2,447 posts

Posted 02 September 2009 - 09:26 AM