Photo

Converting a kiln to digital controller

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 jarrett

jarrett
  • Members
  • 336 posts
  • Interests:Knife making, family, hunting, farming but not always in that order.

Posted 19 May 2010 - 10:18 PM

I am going to convert my kiln to a digital controller. What I have is a Duncan Kiln with a kiln sitter and dial (lo, med, hi) type controller. This works decently for heat treating but I really want more accuracy, predictability.

I have order this: NEW FUJI PXR3 RTD °F TEMPERATURE CONTROLLER PT100Ω from EBAY.

Now, I have zero experience with this and would like guidance. I've read Dee's pinned thread(great by the way). I've also visited the British Blades site.
MOst of what I've seen is associated with new construction though.

I will take any advice I can get on the conversion.

Some of what I've wondered is;
Will I need a SSR?
Will I have to purchase a new thermocouple to make this work? or can I hook up to the sensor in the kiln already.
CUSTOM KNIVES BY JL RHODES
JLRKNIVES

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
God bless you. I thank God every day for the freedom to spend time with those I love, and time to pursue this craft.

"Adversity is a test for strong men."
"What one man can do, so can another."
"NO excuses, just do better next time."

#2 richard sexstone

richard sexstone

Forum Board

• Super Administrators
  • 2,047 posts

Posted 20 May 2010 - 04:17 AM

Jarret
I would think yes ,you will need a new themocouple.... wait to till your get your controller and so you can find out what will be compatible... both for the type of plug it has( they can be swapped just like a lamp cord plug) and for the temperature range... the K type usually read the highest temps....
Dick

#3 AlexH

AlexH
  • Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 20 May 2010 - 10:45 AM