Forge welding

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 DFogg

DFogg
  • Super Administrators
  • 2,814 posts

Posted 25 March 2003 - 05:53 PM

Trust me, borax is a fine flux, I have been using it successfully for 25 years.

Don Fogg

#2 TOM PITTMAN

TOM PITTMAN
  • Members
  • 153 posts

Posted 25 March 2003 - 06:52 PM

I'm using 20 mule team, is anhydrous borax (homemade or store-bought) as much better as I've heard?

#3 Jerrod Miller

Jerrod Miller
  • Members
  • 355 posts
  • Interests:The outdoors, books, movies, medeival stuff, and of course blades and fire.

Posted 25 March 2003 - 07:20 PM

Thanks guys, good to hear that.

#4 TOM PITTMAN

TOM PITTMAN
  • Members
  • 153 posts

Posted 26 March 2003 - 07:51 AM

What you said about the sand makes sense, but I could see problems if you got sand/glass inclusion in the weld. Seems to me it would be harder for glass, even liquid, to squirt out of the weld area, but it must have worked for someone. I have tried mixing Kasenite surface hardening compound with borax, thinking it would help with decarb, but I didn't see an improved performance in the finished blade. What did happen was the Kasenite would burn off just before welding heat, filling the forge with a bright yellow cloud. As soon as the cloud was gone and you could see the billet, it was ready.

If anyone needs graphite, I know of a 55 gallon drum full that the owner just wants out of his shop. That stuff seems to get everywhere.

#5 Jerrod Miller

Jerrod Miller
  • Members
  • 355 posts
  • Interests:The outdoors, books, movies, medeival stuff, and of course blades and fire.

Posted 25 March 2003 - 05:48 PM

I found this on a guy's site: