Photo

Antique Bowie & Sheath

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Billybob

Billybob
  • Members
  • 61 posts
  • Interests:ABS..Bowie Knives! Folders! Money! Women! (as long as it is my wife)  i did not know a knife had a point on it till i was 18 and went into the service. it was then i saw the first pointed knife. my mom and dad broke off the points of any knife they gave me. so i would not put my eye out.

Posted 17 October 2003 - 11:23 PM

Hey Everyone, i posted a picture of this bowie last week with 2 others, but i had not made a sheath for it, i finished the sheath today and thought i would share it, It is my first attempt at making tip and throat style sheaths, i used .032 nickelsilver, i formed all the pieces on my press using urethane and steal forms, it is really a cool way to shape things, the tip is 4 pieces and the throat is 5. the Knife and sheath are my recreation of a 1830 bowie that i saw, and was made by man named Padel from New Orleans in 1830's, i just thought it was a cool knife..i maybe be showing it in the wrong forum, no offense, but it seems swords are the biggie here..i just like sharp things..

forgot the dang picture

#2 DFogg

DFogg
  • Super Administrators
  • 2,813 posts

Posted 18 October 2003 - 10:13 AM

That's a beauty Billy Bob.  :)

Don Fogg

#3 Wild Rose

Wild Rose
  • Members
  • 255 posts

Posted 18 October 2003 - 12:38 PM

Very nicely done Billybob.

One note of correction though?? - I believe you mean the knifemaker's name to be Pradel? A. Pradel was a surgical knife maker in New Orleans during the 1830-1840's and his work is extremely rare. I did a sheath for a repro Pradel a while back and found very little info on the man or his knives.