pdsapphire

engraving

I have been starting to buy supplies to start my workshop. I was wondering what you guys use to engrave metal. Would a dremel work? I Know I could do some of the work with file. But what about when a file wont work?

Metal is engraved using small "chisels" called "Gravers." They are commercially available, and also (I'm told) quite easy to make.

I am far from an expert on this subject, but had an oppertunity to meet Ford Hallam a while back and he showed me some of the tools I woul be needing to do engraving the traditional Japanese style. I am about to forge out some of them and will post the results. As far as I could work out, there are two basic types: Those that you use with a hammer (A range of very small hammers) and those you use only with your hands.

Regards

Wayne

Thats one way of doing it and you can buy recipricating engravers from a few bucks up to over a thousand bucks do a search on engravers a dremel is a rotory tool and tends to skid all over the place I have seen them for around $35 usd hand held elec variable speed and 2 impact settings if i can find the link again i will post it for you

cheers tell

here is just one i found http://www.amazon.com/Dremel-Variable-Spee...r/dp/B000GHV1Q4

Edited by tell

It depends greatly on what type of engraving you want to do. I'd love one of those mega-expensive air gravers, but I do it the old-fashioned way with chasing hammers, gravers, and push gravers. I make my own gravers from 1/8" music wire (1095), so it's cheap. Here's some of what you can do with one 1/8" square graver and one 120° push graver:

Finished_lock_detail.jpg

engraved_hawk.jpg

and here's a pic of me engraving runes on a hammerhead with the square graver and a 1-inch chasing hammer:

Alan_20L_20engraving_20closeup.jpg

Very nice work i love old muskets.

Alan,

how do you do the HT on 1095 for gravers?

Alan,

how do you do the HT on 1095 for gravers?