wannabeswordsmith

HAREDEN, MILD STEEL?

Can Mild steel be hardened by quenching? I know the carbon content is very low, and if it does harden at all is it any significant amount. I know the processes would involve the carbon content and with such a low amount does it amount to anything. Not necessarily in blade making, just in general. I had this question posed to me.

It's been my experience that mild steel doesn't harden enough to notice, no matter what I've quenched it in. I've noticed some difference in steels with .4% carbon and up, but nothing below that. However, THIS THREAD by Ariel Salaverria details a process of case hardening where he got RC 56 out of 1030 (I think it was 1030, anyway).

Almost all metals can be work hardened to some extent if they are not too brittle to begin with.

I have no practical knowledge of the subject, just what I have read.

It can be case hardened, but this is only skin deep and will be worn away after the first few sharpenings.

For that matter, you can case harden it, cut it into pieces, then stack the pieces and fire-weld it together just like you would damascus. Basically do-it-yourself shear steel (Not for the timid or faint of heart, I suspect).

If the piece really needs to be hardened, spring steel would be a better choice.

Mild(1018,1020)does surface- harden slightly in a brutal water quench.Even more considerably in a brew known as SuperQuench-a detergent based liquid.The hardness obtained is often enough for expediency in some blacksmithing process,such as a quick and dirty drift.

Edited by jake pogrebinsky

And then there's good old A36 structural steel, which is usually what they sell you as mild steel these days. It can harden up enough to annoy you, but not enough to hold an edge.

thanks for reply guys. Learning as I go here. I wasn't sure to what extent it did harden but I figured it couldn't be much, I told this and just wanted to be sure I didn't mispeak.