Sign in to follow this  
Guest Tai

Oww my hand hurts

when i was a freshman in college i was so into blade making that it occupied most of free time which was needless to say almost the hole day ( i only had 4 classes and 1 or 2 a day)

anyways, when i wasn't with friends or eating or sleeping,

i spent the better part of my time in the art studio workshop grinding away steel

when they closed the shop, i'd go back to my dorm and pull out my state of the art technology (a swiss army knife saw and 2 nicholson files and get to work)

i turned manage to turn out a iaito daisho set of 1045 steel

is it just me or am i obsessed?

by the way, that was alot of work with only 2 files and a knife saw

I have tried to figure out how to get my forge in my dorm room for a year now.  I think I have found space for it and my anvil, but they wont even let me light a candle.  Think they will notice if I set up my smithy?

I think a forge in your dorm room is a great idea, however, likely to be discovered and it's hard to forge when your clapped in IRONS!  Why not put a small charcoal forge in your truck bed right behind the cab?  Face it into the wind and make sure there are no leaks in your gas tank!  HEH HEH [tapedshut] Shouldnt give you ideas :banghead:   The potential for fumes from your gas tank is the only hazzard I see here.  A beach umbrella properly positioned will provide cover for you and allow the smoke etc to escape.  OR you could just put a cap on the back, vent a gas fired forge out the top and hammer away! :cool:

The preceding message is not meant to be taken literally.  If you blow yourself up,  :(   iT's all YOU!  [dunno]

i'd steer clear of a forge in a dorm room. i'f you're interested in forging you should check to see if your campus has a metal working area.. mabye you could rent some space... just ask around.

First of all, my gas tank is IN the cab, so I think I'll be safe.  

Second, I was joking (maybe this should be first).