Sign in to follow this  
Archie Zietman

Installing an on-off, and thoroughly confused

Been a long time since I've been here. Hello again!

I have a basic electronics question: I want to install an on-off switch to my blower (one of my teachers a few years back had a light switch spliced between the blower and plug I think? It was definitely a light switch). So I bought a switch, but it only has 3 wires: 1 hot, 1 neutral and 1 ground. I'd think you'd want two of each in order to splice it into a power cord? How comes it that you only need one trio of wires? I'm just utterly baffled, and am in need of pictures or drawings to explain how it is done.

Thanks eversomuch,

Archie

P.S. Can you tell I'm not an electrician? :)

edited for clarity and a typo

Edited by Archie Zietman

Hello.

Been a long time since I've been here. Hello again! I have a basic electronics question: I want to install an on-off switch to my blower (one of my teachers a few years back had a light switch spliced between the blower and plug). I bought a switch, but it only has 3 wires: a hot, a neutral and a ground. I'd think you'd want two of each in order to splice in into a power cord, do you not need that? How does one do it? I'm just completely baffled, and am in need of pictures or drawings to explain how it is done.

Thanks eversomuch,

Archie

P.S. Can you tell I'm not an electrician? :)

normally you only switch the hot on and off.

so most simple switches have two terminal ........... you cut the hot/black power wire and place the switch where you cut.

I AM NOT SURE ABOUT YOUR SWITCH WITH THREE WIRES