Sign in to follow this  
savageknives

treadle hammer plans

im somewhat new to the game and im looking for a simple yet effective treadle hammer. i am will be going to college in a few years so hopefully something easy to disassemble and transport. something easy enough to build that i and my brother can accomplish, (him being a mechanical engineering student). please send me anything you come up with. PM or email me at measley010@sbcglobal.net. thanks much brothers.

Having built one and seen what it can and cannot do, what are you looking to do with it?

Well treadle hammers are bulky for moving, and traditionally pretty heavy. They do have a set of plans on abana for sale from what I remember. It you have an air compressor and good welding skills, you could check out this DIY air hammer. It uses kinyon style controls and one guy can carry it.

http://www.anvilfire.com/power/jyh_index.htm

It's the one listed as the kiwi prototype

Edited by Tate Roth

sam, im looking to stick mostly to blades. really nothing too spectacular but more expedient than putting it under hammer and anvil. thats a cool design, i would like to keep it leg powered at least for now. im young and im not trying to sink my savings into a project just yet.

There's been a few over the years, plans that is. Many a yarn ago I build one and used it a lot. It was good for exactly what you want, home built added power.

My plans were from Wayne Goddard. He used to sell 'em years ago, don't know if he still does. His design was fairly simple to build and worked. The geometry of it had the hammer use a pivot point away from the hammer so things had to be right on as far as bottom and top die height. I've noticed a lot of work by other designers that gets the hammer to slide straight up and down, but makes things more complicated in the build.

A quick search for "treadle hammer" will bring up an awfull lot of stuff.

This one is basically what I built. Basic Treadle