Sign in to follow this  
sickbugs

FORGEBEQUE

old bbq grill, line it with clay with a pit on the inside for burning your fuel. way to get a flow of air to it (piece of 2 inch steel pipe with a hairdryer on the other end works) umm .. what are you going to be burning? wood, charcoal, coal or gas? think it all through before u rush into something.. i chose wood because its what i can get a lot of cheap, but i spend a lot of time now cutting the wood, pretty much 1 day chopping to 5 days forging(which i dont mind because its good excercise) also think about what your going to make your blades out of. collect all your tools, that would be everything u could need !!! and dont forget  a good pair of gloves either (i got a few nice burns from red hot metal and im new to this too, so gloves are very important)

oh.. if your using a hairdryer as a blower, buy one!! dont use your moms  

dont limit yourself to a forgebque tho, don has plans for a forge made from adobe on his site, i havnt made one yet but plan to try it out because my current forge is dying (limestone blocks +heat = limestone blocks crumbling) if you know a welder who is willing to help you out for free, u could think about a gas forge too, once u can get the insulation.. read all you can online about everything related to bladesmithing and blacksmithing, and pay attention to fitting handles because believe me when you start you will wish u had read even more !! every day i learn new things and wish i had known them a couple of months ago.

it seems to me that bladesmithing requires a great deal of Humility, dedication, patience, hard work, research, humility, patience, more dedication, more patience, even more humility,even more patience.....

and so does using the search function  :P