Sign in to follow this  
Hurl Vreeland

Making folded steel in the way of mokume

Has anyone tried to make folded steel using shim stock and making it in the way you do mokume.  Just curious if this would work and in addition if this does work will it fuse to the stainless as mokume does not.

Thanks for your replies in advance

I know there are a couple of us that roam this forum who have used "shim stock", e.g. thin dimension stock, to make pattern welded billets.  But I don't weld it using pressure plates, like mokume, unless you count the top and bottom dies of my hydraulic press or power hammer.

It is entirely possible to use stain resistant steels in shim stock to make pattern welded steel.  It's a slightly different proposition for which I have no experience.  If Devin Thomas or Mike Norris were here they could give the best advice.  

I suspect that given enough time at temperature a pressure plate system would work to fuse the steels just like the non ferrous stuff.  I like banging things around and squeezing stuff to wait for that...

My understanding is that stainless would require an oxygene free environment.

I would be using high and low simple carbon steels.  I want it for folded steel, not Damascus.  I have access to a hydraulic press and can draw it out.  I guess I was looking at the labor aspect.  Instead of many folds I could use .025 shims in high and low carbon steels and with just a couple folds have 1000 layer steel.  I have heard that the steels will want to warp and have heard of difficulty in acheiving a bond.  With 2 1/2 s.s. plates in the forge heated high enough and long enough will they bond in the manner as mokume does, diffusion bonding I believe it is called.

Folded steel, laminated, layered, damascus, but not wootz, in the common tongue, pattern welded steel all the same to me.