I am doing some R&D for a start up business making garden tools and they are making a ling handled trowel and low carbon steel is too soft.

I was wondering if there are any steels that could be HTed to a soft spring(bend and not break) type of temper with out anealing after the quench.

Well someone will probably answer ya here, but I would ask over on the I forge Iron website, lots of folks making usable tools there. THOUGH personally I make things out of 1018 steel. I'm not experienced enough though to make a proper call for ya though.

Ben, I can't quite understand what you are asking. Are you trying to find a steel that will have a springyness to it as quenched? You might try austempering some of the mid carbon content steels such as 1050 or 1060. You will need a low temperatur tank that can hold a temp of around 500-600 degrees for 30-45 minutes. The tool will also have to be rather thin, 1/8" or maybe even a little less. You could also look at some of the low alloy steel with 50-60 points of carbon and get an ITT diagram for it to see what temps you need for an acceptable RC. This is just an idea; you could still run into a problem with retained austinite without tempering. It's the best that I can think of off the top of my head. I would think that a regular quench would have even a worse problem with retained austinite.

Doug Lester

Steels similar to your description, and widely used in agricultural tools, are boron low alloyed steels. I suppose that they are hard to find, but I think that are what you re looking for.

http://www.zerneri.com/italian/abotab.htm

you can see the specs here. It's written in italian, but mostly are numbers.. On the paper they need tempering, but the carbon level is very low and I think they could work even just after the quench.

Or you could try to superquench some kind of low carbon steel.