JimC

This might be interesting: nugui

Nugui is powdered water stone, iron oxide and clove oil. The mixtures and recipes vary by school and individual polisher. Right!

I got my degree in Fine Art, and I spent a large amount of time using oil paint. My brain kicked over a memory this morning: many of the "Earth" brown pigments are iron oxide in one form or another. There's also a Chrome Oxide Green, which as you might guess, uses chrome oxide as a pigment.

Iron oxide + oil + ? = nugui

I asked myself, "Jim, is it possible that you have old tubes of paint that might be really concentrated Nugui or metal polish?"

The mix that I experimented with on one of my own blades was Burnt Sienna mixed with a small amount of sub-micron alumina powder and a little clove oil. It worked. I even went so far as to try hadori on the hamon afterward. That worked also.

Notes: the blade I used has been through so many different kinds of traditional and hybrid polish that I may never be able to replicate this. HOWEVER, the last polish prior to this was a strong vinegar etch that left a very clean surface after polishing.

Would someone who does hybrid polishing try this and see what results you get?

Nugui is powdered water stone, iron oxide and clove oil. The mixtures and recipes vary by school and individual polisher. Right!

I got my degree in Fine Art, and I spent a large amount of time using oil paint. My brain kicked over a memory this morning: many of the "Earth" brown pigments are iron oxide in one form or another. There's also a Chrome Oxide Green, which as you might guess, uses chrome oxide as a pigment.

Iron oxide + oil + ? = nugui

I asked myself, "Jim, is it possible that you have old tubes of paint that might be really concentrated Nugui or metal polish?"