tormentchris

whats wrong with my hands?

i have been a roofer by trade for @ 18 years. i've been blacksmithing for about 1 year. for the last 6 months i wake up in the middle of the night in agony. my hand are numb and sore. my left hand, middle two fingers, and fore arm are throbbing (tong holding hand.) my right hand ( hammering hand) not as bad, but the same. i got some braces for at night and it seems to help. does anyone have any ideas on what this is and what in the world i can do? ouch!!!

any help would be very appreciated, chris

Edited by tormentchris

Sounds a little like Carpal Tunnel.

I would have to agree with this, but you really should talk to a doctor. My Carpal Tunnel only makes my pinky and ring fingers go numb, but yours could be more severe--repetitive stresses are killer on the hands and wrists

Edited by Noah M Legel

It is common to try to grip too tight when beginning; having the properly sized tongs for the stock or working from a parent bar and doing away with tongs may help. Also, having a hammer that is not too heavy and has a properly shaped handle helps. Using good hammering technique is important also. Please consult a doctor, as my comments assume a healthy body with no damage.

It also sounds like your tongs don't fit right. That will make you grip too hard.

I'm going to re-post a rant I wrote a while back that never made it to posting because the site crashed. It's not necessarily directed at you, but it's something everyone needs to hear every so often:

/Lecture mode on:

If you're hurting yourself you're doing something wrong, unless you already have arthritis.