Sign in to follow this  
jake cleland

propane forge issues

I'm in the process of building a fogg style vertical forge, my first gasser. it's 17" tall with a 9" diameter, lined with 2" of ceramic wool, for a 5" i/d 13" high. it has a 3/4" T-Rex burner coming in at the bottom at a slight tangent.

i just fired it up for the first time, and even with the air inlet wide open and low pressure, i'm getting quite a bit of flame out of the doors, and the burner head, which i had just barely in the inlet for it (not through the steel body) got red hot very quickly - is this normal? do i need to shape the ceramic wool at the burner inlet into more of an inverted cone?

any help would be appreciated.

Jake-

I'm no expert, as we've only built a couple forges so far, trying out different ideas, but it sounds to me like your burner needs to be into the body a bit more. Ours have been blown burners, but we attached the burner inlet securely to the forge body (a steel 3-gal. paint bucket), & then formed a cone-shaped opening thru the wool, running the refractory lining out to meet the burner inlet. We actually formed some spiral ridges in the refrac to try & get a better swirl on the last one. Don't know if it works, but I know it gets hot inside, & the burner tube itself stays [relatively] less hot.

We've tried to get pic's of what we did, but they didn't show much unless you knew what you were looking at. I can post some up if it would help.

randy

As far as I know, having a slight inverted cone in the ceramic fiber will help. I had my t-rex burners sitting inside the ceramic fiber, and had the fiber continue the taper of the end piece until it got into the body of the forge. The tips will get red hot, they are made from Stainless (at least back when I got mine they were) and they hold up fairly well. I've been running them for about 3 years and they are still doing a great job.