Dan Hurtado

On creativity

I have been making knives for about a year and feel I am improving in producing clean work. I know what I like (and don't like) in others' work, but when it comes time for me to sit down and draw something "new" the empty page is like a snowstorm in which I get lost. This theme is consistent in other areas: I play piano but I don't write music, I can draw the human figure but I don't create scenes, I write reasonably well but I don't craft tales.

I suppose my point is this; how do I draw inspiration from other makers without simply copying them? I appreciate the technical challenge of trying to reproduce what I see, but I would never want to mimic someone else's design and call it "my" work. Skill in execution may come through effort and time. But is creativity something you simply "have" or "don't have", or are there techniques to devlope the "inner eye"?

Help! I'm an engineer with an artist's hobby!

need is the mother of creation. try going about it the other way, instead of looking for something cool that happens to have a purpose, think of what it needs to DO and design arround that. it might help

also, don't be afraid to make something imperfect. just because your first carving looks like it just came out of a wood chipper doesn't mean you'll never get any better.

Edited by C Daniel