Sign in to follow this  
MAtthew Boston

hamon on a duel edged katana - need help

zx5mx5.png

i have been wanting to make this sword for a while now for my own collection. it is a katana , but it has a 2nd edge on the rear. for at lease the first 4in. so can i get some opinions on making a hamon for this kind of sword. my current trys have all cracked, or broken durring the quench. i have tried relieving the stress but still get a bad result. all opinions may help. ive had 4 trys so far and all have been failures and none of my trys have bleeders on them. my steel is 1095 hi carbon steel. im making it for my collection. and to prove to myself that i can do it. So any opinions- sorry for the pic being anime- its just easier to show it than trying to explain it in detail

Edited by MAtthew Boston

Hi Matthew

Once again I am far from an expert, but I really love this blade shape and did a bit of research a while back. It seems that the edge on the back of the balde is more decorative in function and I have not managed to find a picture where it is actually hardened. By the way the blade shape, according to my research is called "Kogarasu Maru-Zukuri" which means "Little Crow"

Little Crow copy.jpg180px-KogarasuMaru1.jpg

Maybe a Google search will help.

Regards

Wayne

Matthew,

You may want to use a lower carbon steel for such a large blade. Maybe something closer to 1070. Run normalization cycles prior to your final quench heat and make sure you are getting even heat over the entire blade length. (What is your quench media?) I've never attempted a sword and congratulate you for biting such a large project. From what I've read, they are much, much more than just a long knife.

I'm sure one of the sword makers will have more first hand knowledge. Good luck!

my quench is in heated motor oil. it has worked for my other swords such as tantos, wakizashi, kadachi. yes i have been bitten by the japanese bug and i know it changes you.