Sign in to follow this  
Logan D.

Blade Metals and Where to buy them?

I'm new to blade making and unfortunately I don't know where to buy metal. I'm looking to try knife-making, with grinder and drill and all. I want to make them out of 9260 spring steel, carbon steel and maybe T1, but the only issue is I don't know where to buy the steel. Does anyone know where I could buy the metal online or around Greenville, South Carolina?

Logan,

You can do a lot with scrap steel. Automotive leaf springs are typically somewhere in the 5160 range and old files or farrier's rasps often behave like 1095 or W-2. You can buy stock online from Admiral Steel, Aldo (the New Jersey Steel Baron) or Kelly Cupples.

Good luck!

The only source for small amounts of 9260 that I know of is Admiral Steel and they sell it in only two widths. The only other place that I found that could supply it had a $2K minimum order. Admiral lists it with their 5160 steel. If you pull up their list of 5160 on their list of on-line blade steels and read down it you will notice the two sizes of 9260 listed in with them.

One question, what is your thinking behind using T1 for a knife?

Doug

Edited by Doug Lester

Didn't Kelly sell Ellis recently and its now in someonelses hands?

Darren Ellis sold his opperation to these folks:

http://www.hightemptools.com/ link

They still have a link to Kelly Cupples steel supply.

http://www.hightemptools.com/steel.html