• Announcements

• Alan Longmire

IMPORTANT Registration rules   02/12/2017

Use your real name or you will NOT get in.  No aliases or nicknames, no numerals in your name. Do not use the words knives, blades, swords, forge, smith (unless that is your name of course) etc. We are all bladesmiths and knifemakers here.  If you feel you need an exception or are having difficulty registering, send a personal email to the forum registrar here.  
Ken Wolfe

Forming Bamboo

22 posts in this topic

i have no experience in this whatsoever, but im very interested in this as well...i personally love the look of bamboo

One way to form bamboo is to make it grow into the shape that you want. If you catch it at the culm stage and force it to grow into a pipe of the given shape that you want, the bamboo will grow to fill that space. And it won't take more than a few days but you have to do it in the Spring when the new shoots are starting to peak from the ground.

Is that how the make the hook handle canes? I tried to take a 2 year old shoot and steam it and bend it, and all that happened was that it split and shattered. One thing I do know about bamboo is that as it grows older, the more the structure of the shoot is replaced by silicates. After 3-5 years for most varieties the silica chokes off the ability of the stem to transport water to the leaves and the shoot dies.

I have this image in my head of a grove of bamboo growing up through curved pipe, with the leaves sprouting out of the pipe end, like something out of a Dali painting.

The best way would be to find a stem that came close to the curve and take it as you find it. Or you could find a curved piece and make the blade to suit. Drying bamboo is another issue. Many types are so thin walled that split easily when they dry. I've found that standing the pieces upright for a year or so works best.