So, for the most part I've been using a Lanskys system to sharpen my knives, and while it works well, it just doesn't work for big knives. So for the larger ones I've been using a big hardware store stone I got 2 years ago, and some old fine stone I found in my dads barn.

But, as these two are starting to wear out, I've decided I need to look into investing in some new and good stones. I've done some looking around, but there don't seem to be a large amount of threads hanging around about them, and I'm still kind of confused about them. So.....

#1 - Oil or Water? I understand this can be kind of like asking press or powerhammer, but I'm interested in seeing what people have to say about it.

I've never used waterstones, only oil, so I can't really use my own experience, but it seems like might be nice not to have to worry about the oil getting onto my handle and messing it up and such, but again, it's just an impression, I have no experience with waterstones.

#2 - How many? I don't have much money, so I can't afford to get the best collection out there, I just want some stones I can use to get my knives good and shaving sharp. It seems like 3-4 stones seems to be typical, but I'm not really sure.

#3 - Where? I've done some looking around, but since I'm still not sure exactly what I'm looking for, it's hard to price well. But it does seem like woodworking stores are going to be a common place to get them. So, where do you purchase your reasonably priced stones? (links would be handy, but a name will work as well).

Thanks guys, I don't know where I'd be without ya'll.

I sharpen on my belt grinder. Establish the secondary bevel with about a 400 grit belt, then put in a fine belt (REALLY fine ~1000+grit) and get the burr up. Then carefully buff the burr off. This produces a very sharp, easy-to-do edge.

I use a worn out 320 belt running 1/2 speed then finish with an oval diamond stick. the oval lets you catch more blade closer to the choil.

Edited by B Finnigan