little giant ??'s

Hey all,

I am pretty excited about a recent find, a #25 Little Giant that is said to be in fine working condition. Best part about it is the price. Much less than they are going for on the blacksmith sites or ebay(which has one at ~$905 right now). As I have no experience with these guys, what should I look for specifically, besides the obvious, to determine whether this machine is in ok shape? Thanks in advance for any tips,,,

jm

Check the babbitt bearings for slop.  They are the bearings that surround the main shaft on top.  Look for signs that the babbitt material has gotten soft or melted from heat.  On a 25lb this is less likely simply due to the throw weight but it is a bigger problem because it means the hammer is due for a rebuild.  There are some pretty decent videos that walk you through a rebuild.  I think the ABANA website or some of the blacksmith sites have links. It might be a good thing to get a video, learn some, then go look at hammers.  If I'd have done that, I'd have gotten around to a rebuilt a lot sooner than I did.  

Next check the inside of the ram for wear at the dovetail.  If the dies are loose or there are signs of welding, somebody broke the ram, or the casting was bad originally.  More important, look inside the slots where the toggle links fit into the ram.  If the "web" that holds the link in the ram is thin it's a huge sign of wear.  This can be fixed by welding a new web, but the welder will cuss you some.  

Then examine each joint where parts move against one another.  You may need to consider replacing links or pins or bushings to tighten up the old boy (LG literature actually names these hammers boy, youth, man etc).  Somewhere in the archives on Don's site is a pic I posted of a 500lb LG.

If you were going to change anything, buy a second adjustable toggle link.  It really makes these hammer sing.