Sign in to follow this  
Steven Gillespie

W2 hamon problems?

Hello everyone,

lately, ive been working on a W2 shinogi-Zukuri Wakizashi, but after the first quench, there was no curvature, so i did another normalization ect. only to find again it did the same thing. So now on to my fourth attempt to heat treat it, it did not make a difference -_- , only a very slight curve , but no hamon activity except when its been etched using lemon juice, as its what i have on hand. this has become a very frustrating project being my third japanese styled blade. So, would it come with the fact of clay, temperature, or grain sized? i suspect the clay and temperature cannot cause this as its the same as ive done on the other two with very good, clear results. However i am no expert on this, so please enlighten me on what can be done to fix this and prevent future loops of this problem. :D

Are you talking about a hamon or a sori? Of the things that you have listed I would suspect problems with grain growth as it would promote depth of hardening which would decrease pearlite formation. Also, how does the thickness of this blade compare with the swords that you have treated successfully? How about length of the blades?

Doug

Are you doing any tests to see if it hardened at all? It probably either hardened all the way through or didn't harden at all. Test the blade with a file. If it cuts, it hardened, if it didn't, heat it up more when you try again. What are you quenching into?

-Ethan

Well, you didn't say, but I would guess you are quenching in oil. A switch to warm (110-129F) water and an interupted quench (in fur seconds, out four seconds, back into the water a bit longer, then temper immediately) would solve the sori and hardening issues. This also comes with the attendant risk of cracking.