So I've got this feeling that I'm not the only one on this forum who enjoys making my own alcoholic beverage. I started brewing my own beer about a year ago and it's becoming a hobby that I value more and more (not at the expense of my bladesmithing, off course). I've noticed already that I can use some of my bladesmithing experience while brewing, I have for instance rigged up pid-controller for accurate temperature control of my mash tun. As we know from http://www.bladesmithsforum.com/index.php?showtopic=6905 beer and blacksmithing goes hand in hand ;)

Maybe it's time we could start comparing notes about malts, hops, yeasts and other goodies that go into the magic brew pot?

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've been interested in trying my hand at beer and mead. I'd be interested in this, for the knowledge.

Dan

Man, its 7:15 in the morning and I'm at work. Now I'm going to be thinking about having a beer for the next ten hours.

Man, its 7:15 in the morning and I'm at work. Now I'm going to be thinking about having a beer for the next ten hours.

I'm stuck on the boat where I work for the next three and half weeks, no beer here for safety reasons :wacko: Still planning the two batches I'm going to brew when I come home makes the wait a little bit easier, I'm making an IPA and a heavily hopped dark Belgian strong ale. And I'm also looking forward to sampling the brown ale I bottled just before leaving, the conditioning should be just about right when I arrive home :)

Edited by Leif S

Respect! That's keeping it old school, Tyler!

It'll be the first time I've planted it and the second time I've helped with malting, so I'm expecting a pretty steep learning curve. What malts do you find yourself using most?

I meant to say this in my previous post, but you beat me to editting: the PID controller for the mash tun is a really cool idea. Puts my foam wrapped coolers to shame. Edited by Tyler Miller