Sign in to follow this  
nixonhacker

Writing a story, need some help

Hi, I'm a writer of short stories. Right now I have a problem. In my current project, a private investigator is looking into a fire that has destroyed a bunch of valuables in an office building. One of them was a 17th century Japanese sword. I need to know this:

What kind of steel did 17th century Japanese bladesmiths typically use and at what temperature does it just up and melt? If it did melt and was then cooled to a solidified state after the fire died down, what would it look like (would elements of the alloy separate from other elements, for example)?

Also: Is there a common modern steel alloy that melts down at a lower temperature than the 17th century Japanese type?

I don't know a thing about metallurgy, so I kind of feel stupid asking these things.

If anybody can answer this, I'd really appreciate it.

Edited by nixonhacker

Sounds like an interesting story concept thus far -- I'll help ya out a bit.

Generally the japanese used "tamahagane" - a type of steel they made for blades using a charcoal tatara smelter. Most steel ( not just tamahagane) generally melts at about 2800-3000 degrees fahrenheit, this is however, a "ballpark" figure.

Even if your office building did manage to become a blazing inferno above those temperatures, I dont think the sword would just up and melt unless it was in the hottest part of the fire, and that area was a very consistant and soaking heat, for a long time. This would be quite an anomaly - maybe a small part of it, the edge or the tip MIGHT go.. And I cant think of what modern alloy would be very different in melting temperatures than japanese tamahagane.