Hey all

So this is The Dryad King, and i have only just started making him :)

uvin.jpg
Uploaded with ImageShack.us
This is my first Damascus blade. I have started welding the first weld on the billet with a custom hydraulic press I made. Jee, it is much harder than i thought but I totally love it. Here in this forum I will be posting my progress and my questions since I am a newbie and you guys are total nerd-heads!
So, here you go, first photos:
17 layers to begin with:
tksg.jpg
1yr8.jpg
geyp.jpg
f218.jpg
And now for the Problems
1) Alright the first thing is that the two outer layers after the first welding process, are nearly gone! (you can observe that on the last photo, these two (top and bottom) where heated much more quickly than the rest of the billet, they were already red hot when the rest of the steel was still black. Despite the fact that i fluxed regularly, for some reason the heat ate them up. those to were 1095 steel btw.
2) the second problem so far is that, as I observed, the middle layers of the billet don;t get squished much when I press them, I checked their width, and it is about the same as the original pieces of steel. It seems to me that only the outer layers of the billet get squished.Any idea why ?
Guys any recommendations on those two problems or anything else you observed from the photos will be a big help for me :).
I hope you are all well and happy!
Labros

The uneven squeeze you're getting is probably just do to the height of the billet, take care to keep everything and even width as you're squeezing it down and it shouldn't present itself as too much of a problem. What kind of forge are you using? Charcoal can overheat the outer sections of a billet if you're using too much air. I like that design, btw. What is the final length of the sword going to be?

It looks like you did a good job, especially for your first attempt. Let us know a little more and maybe we will get a better idea of what's going on.