Engraving Hardened steel

Dear All,

I am currently planning forging a composite wedding sword for a mate, as I am his best man. The plan is a damascus twisted bar spine with 'flaming edge damascus' cutting edge. I am hoping to engrave a message or the initials of the betrothed on the blade or handle/pommel. I was just wondering if anyone here dabbled in engraving on hardened steel and would be able to advise me on the ins and outs of engraving and what to buy for the job? I have never attempted anything like this before and so any tips/descriptions of previous failures would be amazing if at all possible!

The hand engravers I have been looking at can be found here http://www.suttontools.co.uk/hand-tools/engraving-tools.html . Are hand gravers or dremels the best for the job/a complete beginner?

Thank you as always for your time,

JH

Hand gravers do not approve of hardened steel, generally speaking. The tips break too often. If you can find them, there are graver blanks made from a cobalt HSS called " MoMax" that last a little longer. I personally have had no luck with using a dremel to do engraving, but it might work for you. Practice on scrap!

The best option for good-looking work in hardened steel is laser engraving , but that isn't a do it yourself job nor does it have that handwork look. I have been known to engrave prior to hardening, though...also your pommel shouldn't be hardened anyway if you go that route.

If you have zero experience hand engraving I can't recommend learning on the fly with a project like this one.

Haha, well this sounds optimistic! I'll definitely practice on some scrap. Would you recommend sending it in to a professional engraver just for this project? Do you have problems with scale removal after hardening in the engraved areas if engraved beforehand?

Thank you again,

JH