Lots of questions on grinding/sanding a blade

I am very close to finishing my third knife. I am very pleased with how it is turning out. Currently using my 2x72 grinder I am grinding, shaping, and finally sanding to about 320 to 400 grit. All of my sanding marks will be situated from spine to edge.

Then I am handing sanding (which I hate) up to 600-1000 grit. This situates my sanding marks from tip to end. While this looks good, I have some questions.

I see so many beautiful knives on here with very distinct grinds and sharp transitions and bevels. While I am still learning to control my grid, when I switch to hand sanding, my bevels and transitions become a lot less distinct.

How many of you only sand with grinder? Is it okay to only have sanding grain run from spine to edge? If not, how do you keep the bevels and edges crisp?

The way you keep things crisp with hand sanding is to use a single sheet thickness on a rigid backing. I wrap mine onto a bar of 1/4" x 1" steel, but hard wood, corian, micarta, and so on work well also. Use the best quality wet-or-dry paper you can find and use it wet.

Jim Batson recommends getting the cheap spray glue from Walmart since it doesn't stick very well and you can just peel off a worn out strip of paper.

There are guys who do it all on the grinder, but they use a huge number of belts of ever-finer grit, often followed by a cork belt with stropping compound. My hands aren't steady enough for that, so I only grind up to around 220 and do it all by hand from there. In fact, I'll often drawfile after rough grinding just to get things truly flat.

When you're on the lower grits, go at an angle to the blade, changing directions every sheet of paper or so to make sure you've got all the scratches out. When you get to your target finishing grit, lengthwise strokes without scrubbing leave a satin finish. If you scrub back and forth you'll leave little swirlmarks that are a pain to remove.