WIP - Ridiculous Sword Attempt

Dear All

Having recently finished my first damascus shortsword, I have been quite (possibly unfounded) confident recently. One of my friends has asked me to make 'ice' from the Game of Thrones 'saga' (I assume most of you are familiar with this awesome sword). As a near-complete beginner this is a ridiculous undertaking for me and I am starting this work in progress thread as a wholehearted plea for help. I would welcome any and all criticisms/abuse/advice as I have never forged anything bigger than 15'' and this is far beyond my comfort zone.

At this moment the blade stands at around 46'' EN43 (0.5-0.6%C) steel, 8mm thick and 2.5'' wide.

I am going to be hand filing the bevels and grinding the fullers (as i don't possess a fullering tool) in the coming weeks. The handle will be either ebony, oak or zebrano (depending on what my friend decides) and will most probably have an aluminium or cherry wood wolf's head pommel.

Thank you very much for looking and any advice,

James

IMAG0495 (479x800).jpg

The roughly forged blade

IMAG0500 (479x800).jpg

Attempting to straighten any weaves due to bevelling

IMAG0535 (479x800).jpg

IMAG0537 (800x479).jpg

IMAG0540 (479x800).jpg

Sorry the photos are pretty terrible, I only have/had my phone to hand. The tang will be extended by about 2 inches by angle grinder to square up the tang and also because I have decided the tang is not long enough to feasibly handle the length of the blade.

Cheers.

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Damn! James...that is one big fellow! (Don't know the story behind it, as I wander about 'darkest Africa' but if anyone could pull off a 'bit off more than I could chew' project I'd put my money on you! Best of luck and I'm sure all the folk here will help in anyway possible!