Hello everyone I have a problem with getting these little pits in my blade. I'm pretty sure that its caused by something during the forgeing process. I'm a novice so I'm still learning. I have a feeling that I'll be learning this new hobby for the rest of my life. If yall have ideas as to what those blasted pits might be any info would be great.

I have a feeling that I'll be learning this new hobby for the rest of my life.

no truer words were ever spoken

everybodys first few knives turn into bowiefilets because of scale

clean your work

brush

forge wet

harley

scaley possum

The secret is to keep scale away from the knife while forging. My tricks:

1) add a little wood or a couple charcoal briquets to the propane forge: it helps make the environemnt more neutral and reduces the formation of scale in the first place(blatantly stolen from a recommendation Tai made a while back). These bits of scale that get into the blade are often referred to as "inclusions" and as you've discovered, they suck.

2) wipe the anvil clean. You've put the blade back in the forge and you know you've got at least a couple minutes to wait. While you're pondering your next move, take a shop towel (or your hand/glove/sleeve) and wipe the face of the anvil

3) forge a little thicker than you'd generally like and then

4) use an angle grinder (harbor freight- on sale for as low as $18!! and they last a really long time, too) with a 60 grit flap disk to grind away the pitted surface. That's why you left it a little thick, the grinding is pretty aggressive... and you can always grind away more, but you can't really put any back.