1075 using just a forge

Robert Carter

If you were to use aldo's 1075 and just your forge without a Pyro meter to tell what temp you are at, what series of steps would be recommended to achieve a good heat treat with an active hamon? Please Pardon my ignorance if this is an easy question but I am new to the mysteries of heat treating and do not have a lot of expensive equipment. For the sake of argument assume a pukka shaped blade 5.5 inch blade 1.125 inches wide at widest and .1875 inches at thickest point. Specifics are appreciated. Including clay prep.

What kind of forge do you have?

I use 1075 more than any other steel and I love it.

You should forge your blade and grind/file it to shape and clean of scale.

You need to normalize your steel, in dim light watch the blade in the forge and bring it up to a red orange state checking it with a magnet until it will not stick, get a color chart on your phone or computer this can help too.

You want to be in the 1500 degree range 1500-1550

take it out and let it cool in still air do this 3 times, then clean it up and clay it.

http://greatwaveforge.com/test

This is a very good link on claying blades.

after the clay/cement has dried take it back up to 1550 and quench in warm oil. Veg oil is ok and so is vet grade mineral oil but the best thing would be Parks, or another industrial quench oil.

Hold it in the quench for 10 seconds and then take it out and let it cool, then you can clean the clay and oil off and temper between 350-400 3X for an hour

Grind it again and and start polishing.

Quench in vinger or lemon juice, or ferric Chloride and clean with chrome polish like mothers and etch again and repeat the process. You can find a lot of ways of polishing and etching on the forum here.

• Like 1

i would forge and grind as usual. leave about 2.5mm - 3mm on the edge, and grind to about 100 grit parallel to the edge.