Bill Kirkley

KMG Grinder Modification

I went to the ABS Symposium in Clyde, NC and had a blast. Being a beginner I went to the sessions that were about the basics. One session was by Chris Williams of Wilmont Grinders ( wilmontgrinders.com ). His grinder has three slots for accepting the grinder attachments, tool rests, and tables. It is a bit of a chore loosening the two bolts to slide the table on and off my KMG grinding attachments so I decided to add a slot to my grinder.

I purchased the cold roll steel from a local supplier (Metal Supermarket). I got a piece of 1/2 X 1 1/2 X 22 inch cold roll flat bar. and 3 X 1/2 X 11 inch cold roll flat bar. I wanted 2 1/2 wide flat bar but they did not have it. I decided to keep it at 3 inches width so it sticks out 1/4 inch on each side. The cost for those two pieces was about $35.00. I cut them down to three pieces 10 7/8 inches long each. I also purchased a piece of cold roll 1 1/2 inch square bar for about $35.00.

It was a fun project. I attached photos including my drawing. If anyone decides to make one, don't forget that the holes in the uprights are .0125 inches off center. I marked the inside so I would put it together correctly. I now have to make a table.

LR Grinder modification 01.jpg

LR Grinder modification 02.jpg

LR Grinder modification 03.jpg

Bill,

I was there also. Chris has a great grinder. Waiting for him to have more in stock now in April so I can get one God willing. That's a great looking modification you have done to you KMG. Looks a little like Chris' Little Buddy 2 slot machine. Very nice!

So I see that it's taller with an extra slot, but what does it do different than my kmg? Sorry I'm slow lol

Thanks George. I am sorry I missed meeting you.