JF-Knives

New here, from the Netherlands...

Hello,

I'm new here on this forum and I could not find a topic to introduce myself.

I'm Joost from the Netherlands (51 year old) and I started making knives almost 8 months ago. I never made something from metal in my life. I was a furniture maker when I was young, now I'm a ICT manager, how strange can it be...

I make knives from stock metal. I hope that its allowed here on this forum, otherwise I will hear it soon I think.

If you like I will post some pictures from my first attempts of making knives...

w.b.r.

Joost

Now I saw where I must post this topic, please mod. place this topic in the right place... It was very early when I placed this post...

Tnx, I will tell the short version of my knife making career.

I started making knives (sept. 2013) for fun and to do something with my spare time.

First, I used construction steel from the home depot to test my skills in knife making.

With that steel I made two knives. They are not heat-treated, so they are pure for testing my skills.

All tools I used are a angle-grinder, a drill-press and a file, and a lot of sandpaper. I made the micarta from a denim pants.

Here some pictures of the first attempts.

_DSC4653_zpse7d07e01.jpg

_DSC4647_zps68e65d27.jpg

IMG_1034_zps1c184cc9.jpg

IMG_1029_zpsc5201247.jpg

This wil be my second knife, also made from construction steel and nog heat-treated.

Here I used a brass spacer and again I made the micarta myself.

_DSC4659_zps04caf6e5.jpg

IMG_1243_zpsd98e5fbd.jpg

IMG_1253_zps3e3bd44f.jpg

_DSC4663_zpsa9f4d67e.jpg

I know, they are a crap, but they were only to for testing purposes.

Greetings, Joost

Then I started making knives from O1 steel, I was inspired by some movie knives and I decided to make myself a replica of the famous Bad-Ass knife from the movie "Cobra" (with Silvester Stallone)

This is the result. (I still had the tool I mentioned before, with the addition of a cheap belt sander. (actually for wood)