Ondřej Borský

Carolingian Seax WIP

Good day gentlemen!

The upcoming state exams have been taking most of my time, but I have sneaked to my workshop every now and then. This is a wedding gift for one of my friends, an archaeologist. He likes Carolingian culture, and so I tried to produce something in that manner - the blade shape is taken from the late 8th century examples, and the floral motive belongs to the 9th. The grip is oak - bog oak and oak to be specific... I thought that him, being an archaeologist, would appreciate the spacers made of the old wood. The rest of thee grip is normal oak, and for me, I must admit it was difficult to carve it. Of course, I am a beginner at carving, so everything is difficult for me :). The blade is W1 (or W2? can´t remember), and it was hardened in HT company. I told them to quench it in oil, but now, they new better :angry: So the blade is hardened through and through, not just the edge. I couldn´t scrape the lines, so I made a chisel and chiseled them... bloody work, if you ask me :D .

Right now, the handle is about to be glued together, the blade polished, and then everything assembled... and then the sheath

IMG_0013 (1280x960).jpg

IMG_0014 (1280x960).jpg

IMG_0015 (1280x960).jpg

That looks like it will be a special piece! Always nice to make something as a gift!

Oak has a coarse grain, likes to chip out! Finer grained wood is beter for carving! I'm useless at it still but my aunt was very skillful at carving, I miss her now!

Edited by Miles Hebbard

That is a really beautiful package! Looks very much like an ancient find, I'm sure your friend will love it!

I love it....

first, that will be a wonderful gift. Gifts are the best sort of knives.

or knives are the best sort of gifts. whatever.