Anybody have some meteorite advice?

Hi folks. I'm not exactly a beginner, but new here though I've been lurking for awhile. I've been forging blades since about 2000. Just starting to get into doing some damascus the last few years. I picked up a meteorite yesterday and would like to try and incorporate some of it into some damascus. It has enough iron in it that a magnet sticks to it, but thats about all I know about it.

So anyone have any thoughts, advice etc on what I have to do to get from space rock to something I can incorporate into a billet?

Thanks,

Ed

I've just had one meteorite experience and it ended badly. My rock was also magnetic. It crumbled at the first touch of a hammer. Apparently there are lots of ferrous meteors but only some have sufficient ferrous content to forge into a blade.

I read a lot about how to forge meteor before my failure. The basic idea is to get it to welding heat, flux it, and very . . . VERY, lightly tap it with the hammer to consolidate it. I read that you should only work it at yellow welding heat and very gently until it's solid and you've driven out the impurities. Kind of like working a really crappy bloom.

I'm sure others have better advice than this, but this is what I recall from my research.

Luck!

Dave

I know nothing about this but was intrigued by the concept. I wonder if you could crush it into a fine powder, place it on a jar of oil (water might make it rust) , tape a magnet to the side of the jar and shake it up. That may be a way to separate the iron from the rest.

Ed,

I have done a few meteorite Damascus blades over the years but haven't used the Mantan variety. Others that I know have without much success saying that was nearly impossible to get to weld. Knowing this I believe that I would either trade it for some "Campo" or try to work it in a can.