An introduction and a question on belt sander

Hello,

I haven't posted a whole lot on this forum but have read quite a bit. I can't seem to find an answer to my question. I need a new way to grind my blades. I have been using an angle grinder but I have been looking at one of these attachments for a bench grinder http://www.amazon.com/MultiTool-36-Belt-Grinding-Attachment/dp/B00BNBAQ90 does anyone have any experience with them? Do they work okay? And are they worth the money? I know it won't be the same as a Burr King or a big grinder like that but I just need something better than an angle grinder. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

Kent.

Edited by Kent Swedlund

I'd go with a Craftsman 2x42 belt/disk sander combo. It's only about $170, which leaves room in the budget for some quality belts from a supplier like TruGrit. I'm a beginner and it's what I use.

http://m.sears.com/craftsman-21513-1-3-hp-electric-belt-disc-sander-21513/p-00921513000P

Edited by Mike Andriacco

I second the Craftsman. With a couple of modifications you can find on YouTube they make a good low price point unit.

If it were me (and it kinda is right now)...

Save your $200

Make & sell some stuff to earn about $250 more

In the mean time, scrounge a decent 1.5 or 2hp motor (I'm trying to figure out an old 1.5hp DC motor so I can go variable speed)

Buy a Coote http://cootebeltgrinder.com/

Now you have a real grinder. Not a KMG or Bader (just one wheel and a flat platten), but a real grinder nonetheless.

By the time you get a Coote, buy a motor, pulleys and belt set it up you can get an entry level Phere 2x72 with motor, VFD, and add different tool arms for multiple heads as the need arises.