Brother Seaxes Collaboration

Hello everyone,

A long time ago Karter Schuster and I made the decision to do a collaboration on two brother seaxes. Inspired as I can be, I started drawing a possible design for the seaxes.

Back then I came up with this:

post-33853-0-96375700-1390249885.png

Then I wanted to make a little alteration on the handle design and designed a sheath for it (which is upside down, i know... :P).

post-35759-0-99974000-1390413800-2.png

After this we had put aside this project for quite a long time because we were both busy with other stuff. But recently we picked it up again.

Karter got a massive leafspring that will be the steel for the seaxes, he is still determining what type of steel it actually is.

IMG_0620.JPG

After some more discussions about the design we decided to alter it quite a bit. We wanted a more broken back look on it so we changed the back of the blade. Then I wanted it to have a little more sophisticated handle decorations, so all in all a complete redesign. I will have to design a new sheath for it as well and I'll post that later. In the handle you can see our initials in runes.

Here is the final design:

Schermafbeelding 2014-08-21 om 00.20.27.png

Karter will be forging the blades from now on, so I will have some time to rest until crafting the handles and sheaths. :P

We will keep you informed on every step in the process!

Cheers.

Edited by JasperDielemans

Actually I will be testing it tonight, hopefully its 5160.

If its 1050 like it was stated to possibly be, eh that's workable too :P

How are you testing it?

Edited by Caleb Harris