This one has been lying around my shop in various stages of completion for about 2 years. It's my first attempt at a hand-rubbed finish and boy do I have new respect for you guys that finish all your blades this way! Gracious! I've got over 400 hours rubbing this thing and it's still got flaws! (I know, boo-hoo...)

Here are the stats:

11-1/2"; blade, 17"; OAL. Aldo's W-2, aged copper, and Sambar stag.

Thanks to Dave Stephens for the tip on how to file groove around the guard!!!

and thanks to JD Smith for the challenge to step up my game.

P.S. - It's my 2nd ever sheath. Cowhide and rattlesnake, 205 stitches and fun to make.

I enjoyed making it, hope you guys enjoy seeing it. God bless you all.

1.JPG
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.JPG
5.JPG
6.JPG
7.JPG

GREAT looking pair! The copper and the flow of the color and shape of the knife flows nicely!

Real nice!

I got some of those laying around in various stages of finish. If they make it to the finish line one day I hope they turn out at least half as good as that one!

Well I thought the handle looked a little short and then I thought maybe it was just the angle of the photo. By dimensions it should be just about perfect at 5 1/2" in length.

However this caught my eyes while re-reading the description. QUOTE: P.S. - It's my 2nd ever sheath. Cowhide and rattlesnake, 205 stitches and fun to make. Wow if that is your second sheath ever, you are going to be real good at what you do! 35.gifthumbup.gif

Excellent job man, the finish and hamon are top notch.

I've got over 400 hours rubbing this thing

I have to ask.... what brand of sandpaper are you using?

Great work! Love the knife! 2nd sheath? Looks a load beter than my 52nd!!!