I made this knife as a gift for my daughter’s tennis coach. His impact on my daughter goes way beyond simply improving her tennis skills, and I feel somewhat indebted.

The blade was going to be just 1095 and 15N20, but I ended up with a big flux inclusion when drawing out after the second round of welding. By the time I cut out the bad part, I was short on material. I drew what was left out to about 8”, cut it in half, and welded the pieces on either side of a piece of 1084 san mai style. I was pretty diligent about keeping the hammer blows even on each side after this step, but the result is still a bit off center.

The guard is nickel silver, the handle is a piece of ash burl, and the pin is 316 stainless.

Quenched from 1500F in 140 degree canola.

This is my 3rd knife attempt, and the first time I have tried a knife with a proper ricasso and guard. Let’s say I learned quite a bit from this one.

I’m starting work on a sheath now. I’ve never done leather work before, so this should be an interesting experience.

I’m really new at this, so feel free to throw out some constructive criticism.

Thanks for looking!

IMG_3225_zps751572a7.jpg

IMG_3227_zpsc961e130.jpg

IMG_3226_zps74be9785.jpg

IMG_3232_zps2aaa0bc7.jpg

IMG_3234_zps6ae61dc0.jpg

IMG_3233_zps937f3d66.jpg

Brian,

That is a great looking knife all around....I particularly like the blade patterns..adding the 1084 was a great idea and the knife looks better because of it. Wow.

Jan

Excellent!!

I just did my first leather sheath last night...so if you need any help, by all means send me a PM. The main things I'd suggest are measure at least three times, use a good glue first (some of the glues are almost as good as stitching as it is!), and a quality overstitch wheel for your stitch holes. I used a set of calipers as a scribe to draw out the lines for my stitches, but a leather groover would certainly be better. Other than that, mine went well.