Sign in to follow this  
Carl Brill

Introduction and work for comments

Hello folks. I didn't find an introduction thread so I'll introduce myself here.

My name is Carl Brill, I live in coastal Maine and I work as a boat carpenter.

Here is my first folding knife, I'm pretty happy with it. A file for the blade with the tang forged for the thumb "tab". Some bicycle tubing for the handle, cold blued. Bronze washers and a nail for the rivet.

The things I might have done better.

- File the blade bevels flat.

- Finish the blade better.

- Clean up the thumb tab where it attached to the blade, I filed for clearance but left it rough.

- Align the back of the blade in line with the back of the handle.

- Give the handle more taper from the front to back. I'd leave the front the same size but add a 1/16" to the butt. In the pictures it shows hardly any taper at all. At the blade it is 0.64" at the butt it is 0.73". Roughly 3/32".

Thank you for any input you might have and please let me know about any posting mistakes I may have made.

My higo 4.jpg

My higo 3.jpg

My higo 2.jpg

Welcome aboard! The knife looks good, let's see some more.

Thanks, I think I prob'ly belong over in the beginner area.

I'm signed up for the American Hand-forged Knife class at JCC School in April. I'd like to get my forging skills out of the "primitive" catagory, if you know what I mean.

I'll certainly show more stuff in Show and Tell.

Thanks

Thank You!

That's quite a knife for your first- Wow. I like the design very much. I was on line looking at stuff on facebook a couple weeks ago...and saw this and was reminded of it when I saw your photo today. Both yours and this one are sort of reminiscent of the French Duk-Duk in many ways

6AF4E05D-8708-4C01-ABD3-55703B986AA7.jpg

Edited by Ray Hammond