How to forgeweld stainless and carbon san mai?

Hey all, I've looked and found some info on making San mai from this forum, but my question is...... can I place a layer of pure nickel in between the stainless jacket and carbon steel core? Total of 5 layers. Will this make it easier to forge weld eleminating the problem of the two steels not sticking together. If that won't work, I've read that 420c and even 440c can weld to o-1, but are there other combinations of steels that are easier?

Thanks all.

I just realized my topic title looks misleading. I had forgot to put a question mark. Is there a way to edit it? I'm typing on my phone so it's hard to see everything. Apologies in advance.

Edited by Austin_Lyles

I'll add the question mark, it takes a moderator to edit titles.

I have a feeling that nickel would just add to the difficulty. And, while I admit I have zero experience doing this myself, I have watched 316/1095 and 304/1095 san mai being made, so I know those alloys will work. It was done in a can made from aluminized exhaust pipe cutoffs and a hydraulic press.

Thank you sir. The question mark should be enough I think.

Funny, I thought the nickel would make things easier. Guess I need to do a lot more research! Ha

Unfortunately, I don't have any experience specifically with cannister welding (I have done carbon steel San mai though, as well as experience making Damascus the "normal" way). If cannister welding is what it takes to make stainless San mai, I'll look into it a bit later. Hopefully others can chime here with their suggestions as well.

Also, I appreciate the suggestion of steel choice. I love options. :P

Edited by Austin_Lyles