A Feather Pattern Damascus WIP

Howdy all!

I've been on break from college for the holidays, and I've been wanting to get into doing some pattern welded work. The feather pattern has always caught my eye. I've never done it before, let alone much of any damascus, so this will most definitely be a first for me. Unfortunately, it's in my nature to make giant leaps instead of baby steps most of the time, so that's why I chose this over the much simpler patterns. :P Hopefully everything works out in the end... cross your fingers!

Ok, so I measured out seven 4"x 1 1/4" / 1/8" pieces of 1095 and six pieces of 15n20 of the same measurements (but thinner at .049") for a total of 13 layers.

20150102_140838.jpg

I'll then clean all the surfaces with my angle grinder and wash in 70% Isopropyl alcohol.

After that I start getting everything lined up and ready to weld. Alternating layers of 1095 and 15n20.

20150102_160938.jpg

Borrowed my neighbors welder to get things tacked together. Pretty soon I plan to get my own.

20150102_162152.jpg

I'll stick it in my forge and let things heat up, and when the steel starts to turn a dull red I'll put plenty of 20 mule team borax on the seams. (I usually prefer to dry weld, but because I will be forging on my welds I want to be certain everything sticks together cleanly)

Everything is nice and hot! I start to rotate my billet every 30 seconds or so to make sure I get a good even heat.

20150102_163441.jpg

Once it's up to heat with the lemon yellow color and wet surface, I'll let the billet sit for another minute or two. Then I'll take it out and give it some nice gentle hits with my 2 lb hammer to set the weld.

20150102_164447.jpg

After taking the billet to a few more welding heats and tapping it all together, we get a nice solid chunk of pattern welded steel!

20150102_170453.jpg

From here on, I'll start carefully forging on my welds. Time to test my welds!!

20150102_182836.jpg