GEzell

another WIP

I'm rather happy with how this project is turning out so far. This is my first time trying 203e as my 'bright' steel, since with these type of blades it will not be on the edge. My first impression with it is you better get it to stick on the first weld, it forms some nasty, hard to remove scale...

The initial billet is composed of W1 for the edge and spine, 2 twisted bars of 18 layer 1084/203e mix 'framed' with 203e, for a total of 6 bars.

DSCN0162a_zpswtdll654.jpg

As I forgewelded the bars together the billet started to bow, and of course when I tried to flatten it the welds popped apart. Undaunted, I re-fluxed it, heated it up and re-welded it, bowed. I let it soak at welding temp for 15 minutes, and then gently worked it flat. The soak worked its magic, the welds held this time, but I gave it a few more welding passes to be absolutely sure...

DSCN0163a_zpslje1y2ib.jpg

Ugly, but solid, and twice as long as it needed to be to boot.... you can see where I've already started to draw out the tang. I went ahead and chopped it to the length I needed, grinded the sides down to clean steel, and forged it into a blade...

DSCN0164a_zps73dfhqkv.jpg

This is to be a Japanese style chefs knife I've been commissioned to make. I didn't like the shape at first but it's starting to grow on me... Here it is after a rough grind and a test etch.

DSCN0165_zpsnxmp4ipc.jpg

I'm going to refine the shape a bit, trim about 1/2" off the tip, and it is now 3/16" thick and needs to be taken down to half of that, so I still have a lot of grinding to do...

I also had the other half of the billet, and had to make something out of it... take a guess...:)

DSCNO166_zpsro1hmvqb.jpg