Saul Kokkinos-Kennedy

Forge welding stainless and "fire" pattern damascus WIP

My most recent job has involved working with a blacksmith, who happens to have a power hammer, and has been nice enough to let me use it in my spare time! It's been really fun, and is a lot nicer than trying to hand weld damascus.

I thought i would show the processes I've come up with based on the information from this and other sites. I would really appreciate any tips, as this is my first time doing stainless san mai, or making big PW billets.

Finally decided to splurge out and buy some proper steel. I went with 1084 (115mm*13mm), 15n20 (50mm*2.4mm), 1045 (55mm*10mm), 416ss (22mm round), and 431ss (65mm*8mm). Not ideal sizes, but was all i could find for a reasonable price, plus i have the power hammer to deal with the thicknesses.

Here is the first billet of 1084/15n20 tacked together with handle welded on. Decided to double up the 15n20 layers due to how thin it was.

PICT0526.JPG

Here is the san mai billet 431ss/1084/431ss being welded all the way around. Before welding the seems i cleaned all mating surfaces, and immediately after the last 60 grit flap disc pass i sprayed them down with WD40

PICT0527.JPG

Here are the three billets i'm gonna work on. 1084/15n20 PW. 1045/1084/1045 san mai, and 431/1084/431 san mai.

PICT0531.JPG

Here is my newly finished forge, heating up the first billet. I'm pretty pleased with it, and find the adjustable arm out the front quite useful

PICT0550.JPG

Edited by Saul Kokkinos-Kennedy

Here's a quick clip of the initial weld.

Here's a pic of the seemingly successful welds on the 1084/431ss san mai billet.

PICT0541.JPG

Drawn out billet of 1084/15n20

PICT0554.JPG

Billet ground clean, cut up and re stacked, with two solid pieces of 1084 each side of PW. I've saved some of the original PW billet to do something different with...