Austin_Lyles

Lockback folder WIP

So I've been really debating on posting this, mainly because of the boring pictures I've got due to me being a one man operation. There wasn't much to look at till last night and now that I can see the finish line, I think it'll turn out ok. Being only my second folder, I'm still learning quite a bit on the process so bare with me. I'll try to explain things as best as I can and hopefully my success's or failures will help someone.

Basic Parts List (prices included):

TI050 Titanium Sheet 5 x 10 x .050 $29.95

Tap Wrench $8.95

2-56 High Speed Steel Tap $10.95

2-56 (0.0670") Cobalt Drill Bit $2.10

2-56 Gold plated Torx screw Buttonhead (packet of 12) $4.95

Lockback Spring (.062" thick x .120" wide x 6" long.) $0.99

5/32 Step Pivot (x 2) $5.90 or $11.80

5/32 Washers your choice (bronze, teflon, ball bearings, etc) $5.00

Ambidextrous Opener (Thumb stud) $2.95

Kudu Horn (or handle material of your choice) $24.95

1/8" or smaller stainless pins (for keeping the parts in line) $5.62

1/8" Cobalt Drill Bit $4.98

5/32" Cobalt Drill Bit $5.98

Kobalt Files (Diamond/carbon) $20

________

Total: $139.14

Holy smokes, after adding all that up I didn't realize it was that much just for materials! Anyways, I hope I didn't miss anything, and if I did, at least there's a good solid start on what you need. (I purchased all my parts mainly from Jantz and some drill bits from Texasknifesupply)

I first start out with lot's and lot's of sketches of different designs. The problem with folders are you have no room to work with. Completely open, the knife looks perfect and when you fold the knife in you realize that the back spine is in the way of the blade closing fully... and etc. Lot's of small detail has to go into designing a folder. I went through 5 or so designs till I found one that worked.