Sign in to follow this  
owen bush

Working fast.....A different definition of skill.

There seems to have been quite a bit flying around Facebook at the moment in different areas about how hard it is to make a living as a smith or blade-smith . I thought I would try and bring some of the conversation here......

If you are looking for money as the primary reward from bladesmithing you are looking at a hard path compared to other avenues of work......

However I never see anything posted up about how quickly people can make something and to me this is of prime importance. I survive in my craft because I can work fast and as a teacher I am able to offer the classes I offer because I have the confidence that I can fix problems quickly with minimal fuss.

I had a farrier as a student and he had a great take on it and told me this phrase.

Skill is the ability to produce quality work ......fast.

As I see it. Speed of work is the trick in this craft. Find a level of aesthetic that pleases you and work at getting faster at doing it.

Chasing perfection is a sure way to make sure you go the opposite way and make things you are never happy with and end up take longer and longer doing it.

If you work fast you can. Earn more money, and/or offer better value to the customer and/or have more free time to develop more indulgent new techniques.

I am interested in your opinions and I know what I am saying is not often at the core of discussions when it comes to bladesmithing conversations that normally look at the definition and value of of skill in a different way.

I just looked up "Skill" on wikki....

"A skill is the learned ability to carry out a task with pre-determined results often within a given amount of time, energy, or both.......""

what think you all?

Edited by owen bush

Very true and salient point.

I have been trying to break away from my work as a general/ornamental smith and get into professional knife making for years and years.