Noob handle finishing ?s

Hey there fellas. I'm new to both this forum (first post) and this hobby (first knife), and I have a question I can't seem to grasp from reading through existing posts. Attached are 3 images of my handles (Black Mesquite).

1. One shows the handle right after applying a coat of linseed oil--lustrous, high contrast, deep colors.

2. Then, I have an image from about 20 minutes after the application of the oil--no luster, somewhat muted colors and contrast.

3. Finally, the picture I took 24 hours later--bland coloring and contrast, looks almost freshly sanded.

How do I get my material to look like it was freshly oiled--less perhaps the luster? In browsing posts, I've seen mention of both hardwood wax and "hand polished". Can someone please describe the processes and materials involved in either of these finishes? Are there advantages and disadvantages to each? Since this is my first knife, I'm all for spending the time to make it right (or as right as this knife is going to be).

Additionally, I've attached an image of my blade - Admiral 1095 CRA (hard to get a good picture of). I've sanded this down to 500 grit then finished with red scotch brite. My issue now, is that after the diamond stone I got some cross grain scratches. Is this common? I thought I was just hitting the secondary bevel, but I guess not. Also, after the water stones, my edge is finely polished and the transition into the primary bevel is sloppy. How do you ensure a sharp, straight line between primary and secondary bevels?

I appreciate any and all advice you can send my way. I'm just soaking up all that I can at this point.

Thanks

IMG_0068.JPG

IMG_0067.JPG

IMG_0055.JPG

IMG_0075.JPG

Linseed oil takes several coats to build up to any sort of lasting sheen. I've never worked with black mesquite, but from your photos, it looks like it is a pretty open grained wood. That means it will take even more coats than some woods.