ULFBERHT sword, from hearth-refined bloom steel.

Hi Gang,

So, now that my ULFBERHT copy has survived heat treating, I will post a WIP, on my Picasa site.
This has been a fun project, that my skills/forge had to catch up to do.

This is a Viking age sword, made from high carbon, hearth-refined bloom.
I will add pics as I progress. :)

https://picasaweb.google.com/106800196895572422821/HearthRefinedBloomSteelULFBERHTMARC

002.JPG

007.JPG

Yup, that, and a half dozen other project. Plus, my SCA schedule, and my day job. ;)
I have like 4 blades at this stage, that I'm making hilt fitting for. And about 10 bars of bloom steel at stages of folding's.
After mid Oct., things slow down a bit at my day job, and the SCA, So, I hope to finish all this up before this year ends. Maybe. :)

I've been dreaming of making this one for about 4 years now. I just needed to let my skills catch up to my dreams.
Getting closer I guess. ;)

Mark, that a killer accomplishment! excellent.

kc

Nice! Sorry to see your inlay didn't really go as planned, but I still like it! I would love to see what you have in mind for the hilt.

My theory has always been that the "ULFBERHT" inlay was a system of classification. For instance, in modern knives we often mark "5160" or "S30V" etc. I've thought this because of the fact that only the swords marked, "+VLFBERH+T" were crucible steel, and swords marked, "+VLFBERHT+" were bloom steel.
The common accepted theory is that the bloom steel swords, "+VLFBERHT+" were fakes and copies. I find it hard to believe that there were hundreds of, "fakes" made from bloom steel, and not a single one of them got the freaking inlay correct. If I were going to make a copy of a Ferrari, would I put a ton of work into making it look exactly like a real authentic Ferrari, and then carelessly inscribe, "Farreri" into the car instead of, "Ferrari"? I know the fake sword theory says that the smiths were illiterate, but why then would they be so consistent?