Sign in to follow this  
Alex Cheng

Hi! Newbie here! Questions on Iron powder...

Hi!

I'm Alex! I've never worked with metal other than sharpening a few knives, poorly that is.

But, I've watched way to many documentaries and watched too many videos to remain an observer!

So the question...

Ever since I realized that most hand warmers were filled with iron powder/sand, I've been cutting them open once they're done and kept the iron filings in a large bucket,

I know its all ferrous oxide, but if I added a liberal amount of Charcoal powder, and have it in a crucible in a furnace for a while, would I end up with any usable steel?

Edited by Alex Cheng

The first thing you should do is check and see if there would be any chemicals that could be toxic if inhaled, inside the packet.

also some sand in the ore will be good actually, sand actually acts as a flux AND is an alloy for steel, contrary to popular belief carbon isn't the only alloy in steel, if that were the case it would be iron, you also want to be careful with how much Charcoal powder you add, a little powder could go a long way.

This is the Chemical composition of 1080 steel.

Iron, Fe 98.0 - 99.0 Carbon, C 0.75 - 0.88 Manganese, Mn 0.60 - 0.90 Sulfur, S 0.05 (max) Phosphorous, P 0.04 (max)

now most of the alloys here you don't have to add, they do it themselves mostly.

I'm no expert on smelting or anything, so i may not be entirely right, but if there isn't too much impurities in your iron and you have enough of it, you should be able to get a nice bloom.

If you haven't already, watch this video, or just simply go to 17:00 to see where Rick Furrer actually prepares the steel to be.

https://youtu.be/fTlmrAh1oHI

Thanks!

Forgot about the sand! Although I thought sand was used to leech out impurities.

I'm pretty confident that the filings are pure steel, and I'll be doing this out doors.

"This is the Chemical composition of 1080 steel.