J.Arthur Loose

Some shop ventilation ideas

I wanted to post some pictures of ventilation / filtration for folks to see who might be setting up shop. I work in a reasonably confined space that's closed up during the Winter, and I've always been pretty cautious about art health hazards. I've been working in there for close to 20 years, and the doc says my lungs sound great, and recent physical therapy work for an old spine injury has also confirmed that my lungs and heart are in pretty good shape for a 44 year old. So I guess the equipment's been working O.K.

I recently added some upgrades and re-organized the studio, and thought I might post pics and some good source material.

I recommend these two books:

http://www.amazon.com/Ventilation-Practical-Artists-Craftspeople-Others/dp/0941130444

http://www.amazon.com/Health-Hazards-Manual-Artists-Michael/dp/1599213184

grindertrap.jpg

Here's my makeshift water trap for the dust collector. The fan is an 800 CFM blower from pennstateind.com They used to do a lot more ventilation stuff, mostly for woodworkers, but they're phasing that stuff out. You can still find similar blowers, no doubt made in the same overseas factory, for $180 to $300. The collector funnel was from them too. The hose is just 4" aluminum dryer vent hose, which has been replaced a few times over the years. Next time I will use the stainless stuff I found that I'll link to later on. The 5 gallon bucket is filled with a few inches of water and really collects almost all of the dust. I wanted to see if the globs of flaming filing balls actually went out in the water, and to see the pattern of air / water flow so I put a round little window in there. Works great. I'm going to have a stainless top welded up when I replace the hose. Don't skip the water trap. I blew a bag once, having been told that "a four foot drop was enough for the sparks to extinguish," and man, does that bag blow up when it goes.

ambientfilter.jpg